You can now ‘unsend’ WhatsApp messages – Delete for me

That is one feature (Whatsapp Recall or Revoke) that everyone out there are gushing about. From all angle, it is really worth its.

Whatsapp which is now the Facebook-owned-app has been rolling different features and updates, in all ways to keep being the top and most used chat app as a Messenger.

The feature has already been developing for a very long time now but Officially, it is called Delete For Everyone or Delete for me, where it enables you to delete embarrassing messages from both one-on-one chat and also group chat too.

WhatsApp in their FAQ section said that the unsend feature is particularly useful “if you sent a message in the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake”.

whatsapp logo

whatsapp logo

Of course, that is what it is meant for, you can’t send some motivating, inspiring and wonderful message then decides to delete the message, it is meant for those embarrassing messages.

From Whatsapp FAQs Blog as Source;

To delete messages for everyone

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone. To delete messages for everyone:

*. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
*. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
*. Tap Delete > Delete for Everyone.

Note:

*. In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.
*. (*) If you or your recipient are not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported.
*. Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if deletion was not successful.
*. You will not be notified if deleting for everyone was not successful.

To delete messages for yourself

Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your copy of messages you’ve sent or received from your phone. This has no effect on your recipients’ chats. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen. To delete messages for yourself:

*. Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete.
*. Tap and hold the message > choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
*. Tap Delete > Delete for Me.

How do you see the Whatsapp Unsend Feature?

Source: Whatsapp Blog

About the author

FBL Admin

I am a Passionate Blogger.

Leave a Comment

css.php