Are you looking for the step-by-steps guide on how to download your Facebook data? Or probably, you may want to jump straight into the unusual; deleting it.

Facebook platform allows you to meet people, make friends, process some few contracts, discuss business and in real life, Facebook has joined few people in holy matrimonial. Although, Mark Zuckerberg had promised to show more from families, friends and less updates from pages.

Virtually, everything has advantages and disadvantages, Facebook isn’t different. With the recent controversy news on Facebook right now, when WhatsApp co-founder Brian Acton airs support for ‘#DeleteFacebook’ due to the fact that the platform are stealing your personal data and selling them to make profits.

Thanks to the steps on Facebook platform, the procedures are really easy and simple to follow. You may want to download your Data, this also allows you to view the what data Facebook has on you, download it and view your data;

How to Download your Facebook Data

What and what are contained in the Facebook Data; it includes your personal data, record of what ads you clicked on, your interests, GIFs, messages, login details, photos (device used in capturing, location, IP address and might come either in few or more gigabyte, it depends on your data space.

*. Log-on to your Facebook account
*. Go to settings at the drop-down arrow by your right;

Facebook steps

*. After clicking on the settings link, the first setting is General, where you will see your name, username, contact, temperature and Manage Account;

*. Scroll down to the last sentence which states “Download a copy of my Facebook data” and click on that,

Facebook steps1

*. On the following page, it will take you to a page “Start My Archive” then click on it

*. You’ll be asked to input your password, enter it.

*. After entering your password, a pop-up showing “Start My Archive” click on it and Facebook will automatically email you stating that, they will commence gathering your data which includes your photos, updates, messages, app that you were the only developer.

*. In few minutes, Facebook will email you, informing you that the archiving process is complete. And they will ask you to enter your password and download it.

BOOM! You are done, just unzip the downloaded file and see for yourself.

Note: Deactivating and Deleting your account are different from each other.

How to Deactivate your Account

On Facebook, you can also deactivate your account without going the hard way, probably, you might want to leave for a while. As I already said above, deleting and deactivating are of two differences;

*. You can reactivate your account whenever you want
*. People can’t see your Facebook Timeline, or search for you
*. Some information may remain visible (like messages you’ve sent)
*. Facebook saves your account info (like friends and interests) in case you reactivate

While deleting your Facebook account means that;

*. You can’t regain access to your Facebook account once it’s deleted
*. It can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in backup systems to be deleted. However, your info isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time.
*. Some things aren’t stored in your account, like messages that you’ve sent to friends – these will remain active
Copies of some material (like log records) may remain in Facebook’s database, but are “disassociated from personal identifiers,” according to the company
*. Facebook delays deletion for a few days after the request is made. If you log in during the grace period, the deletion is cancelled.

From the above details, you will find out that deleting your Facebook account is much more serious than deactivating it. If you may, then, this is how to deactivate your account; it is almost the same steps used in the downloading of data but you may have to go a little more forward;

Deactivating Your Account

*. Now, click account settings at the top right of any Facebook page.
*. Select Settings.
*. Click General in the left column.
*. Choose “Manage your account” and
*. Scroll down to click Deactivate your account;

facebook deactivate

– Enter the reason while you are deactivating it
– Here, Facebook will show you Friends that might miss, (you may decide to go back for them)
– Your accounts pages and app (that you are the only developer)
– You may want to opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook
– Finally, click on the pop-up message “Deactivate Now”

And also keep in mind that if you deactivate your Facebook account, your Messenger account will remain active

How to Delete your Facebook Account

Just goto this link here https://m.facebook.com/account/delete enter your password.

After confirming it. This shows up;

After deletion;

*. No one else can see your profile.
*. Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible.
*. Your friends may still see your name in their friends list. This is only visible to your friends, and only from their friends list.
*. Group admins may still be able to see your posts and comments, along with your name.

You are done with Facebook but you might want to come back later. It is fun to be on Facebook!

About the author

FBL Admin

I am a Passionate Blogger.

Leave a Comment

css.php